learn xhtml, learn xml, learn css, xml, Complete information on xhtml, About xhtml, deference between xhtml, html, xml, dtd, what is xhtml, what is xml, diffrence between xml and xhtml, difference between html and xhtml, define xhtml, define css,


Thursday, December 13, 2007



The purpose of a DTD (Document Type Definition) is to define the legal building blocks of an XML document. It defines the document structure with a list of legal elements and attributes.

The 3 Document Type Definitions
  • DTD specifies the syntax of a web page in SGML.
  • DTD is used by SGML applications, such as HTML, to specify rules that apply to the markup of documents of a particular type, including a set of element and entity declarations.
  • XHTML is specified in an SGML document type definition or 'DTD'.
  • An XHTML DTD describes in precise, computer-readable language, the allowed syntax and grammar of XHTML markup.

There are currently 3 XHTML document types:




The XHTML standard defines three Document Type Definitions.

The most common is the XHTML Transitional.

Is Mandatory

An XHTML document consists of three main parts:

  • the DOCTYPE
  • the Head
  • the Body


specifies three XML document types that correspond to three DTDs: Strict, Transitional, and Frameset.

XHTML 1.0 Strict

Use this when you want really clean markup, free of presentational clutter. Use this together with Cascading Style Sheets.

XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Use this when you need to take advantage of HTML's presentational features and when you want to support browsers that don't understand Cascading Style Sheets.

XHTML 1.0 Frameset

Use this when you want to use HTML Frames to partition the browser window into two or more frames.

What is XHTML

Benefits of XHTML

Difference between XHTML, HTML and XML

No comments: